Some Terrible Advice I got in College


Great post!

A Step onto the Road

Back in the days when I was a fresh young teacher, full of ambition and determination, I soaked up any bit of extra knowledge from the expert teachers around me. Any advice, no matter how ridiculous it sounded, I would try. 

After a while, I began to realize the absolute insanity of some of the advice. Some things I was told turned out to be the opposite of what a teacher like me ought to do. So, if you are looking for tips on teaching, look elsewhere. Or better yet, do the opposite of what I was told.

The infamous terrible tips of my yesteryear:

1. Don’t smile for the first few weeks. I know this advice is given with the best of intentions. The common saying is, “You can ease up later, but you can’t take back control.” That is false. No one wants to start a year with…

View original post 880 more words

One thought on “Some Terrible Advice I got in College

  1. Pingback: A Step onto the RoadThe journeying of a | daddydean89

Leave a Reply

